30 Poems for National Poetry Month: Day 10

April 10, 2013

num0014-gyoHerewith my Day 10 poem:

 

I awake at 4:30 AM

To the sound of a bird

I can’t identify by song.

He teases me from inside

The magnolia just off our deck.

In the predawn light,

I can’t spot him among the buds.

I think of Issa:

“Singing since morning

Skylark, your throat

Is parched.”

Climbing back into bed,

I see you sleeping.

So beautiful in the early light.

My happiness is anything

But average.

 

–Scott Edward Anderson

4 Responses to “30 Poems for National Poetry Month: Day 10”

  1. Lee Langbaum Says:

    Hearing the sound of birds is a major reason I love going to Orlando in the winter. Now, at home, I , too, notice their calling. Xoxo

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Greenskeptic Says:

    To clarify the last two lines: This is a reference to Issa’s poem

    .目出度さもちう位也おらが春
    medetasa mo chû kurai nari oraga haru

    my “Happy New Year!”
    about average
    my spring

    For more, go to:

    http://haikuguy.com/issa/haiku.php?code=029.16a


  3. Lovely…thank you..xod


Leave a Reply

