30 Poems for National Poetry Month: Day 12

April 12, 2013

Jasper

My son Jasper “goofing” at Disney World.

Here is my poem for Day 12 of National Poetry Month:

 

Today, my oldest son is,

Somehow, 17I don’t feel

Old enough to have a son

That age. It’s a cliché, I know,

So I won’t even say it.

Suffice it to say,

I remember

My first talk with him:

Holding him in my arms

In a rocking chair

In Alaska Regional,

The Chugach Mountains

Out the hospital window.

I kissed his forehead,

Looked straight into

His face, and whispered,

“No matter what happens,

I will always love you,

And you will always know it.”

 

–Scott Edward Anderson

2 Responses to “30 Poems for National Poetry Month: Day 12”

  1. Lee Langbaum Says:

    Happy birthday, Jasper!!!!

    Xoxo

    Sent from my iPad


  2. […] 30 Poems for National Poetry Month: Day 12 (seapoetry.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

