30 Poems for National Poetry Month: Day 13

April 13, 2013

lucky-13Here is my poem for Day 13, written at 1:30 AM, proving I’m not always happy:

 

1:30 AM. Can’t sleep.

I don’t like when we fight,

Especially via text, and

Especially about being apart,

Which neither of us enjoys.

I distract myself with old movies

On TCM, and try to forget

There’s still two days to go.

Even Selznick’s “Since You

Went Away,” can’t take me away.

With its sentiment and sorrow,

And the hint of a sappy ending.

Jennifer Jones, whose affair

With Selznick led to husband

Robert Walker’s breakdown,

Playing a teen (at 25), having

To pretend she’s in love

With her ex-husband, not

Her director. (Ah, back story!)

Joseph Cotten’s Virginia

Gentleman not sinister at all,

Showing his range as well as

Limitations. My limitations

Stare me in the face

From the screen —

And from this empty bottle.

While you steam and fume

And try to sleep,

100 miles north.

 

–Scott Edward Anderson

4 Responses to “30 Poems for National Poetry Month: Day 13”

  1. Lee Langbaum Says:

    Shows the depth of your love and vulnerability….nights are the worst! Stick with your and Sammi’s mantra…. Time and Patience.. it’s served you well!! Xoxo

    Sent from my iPhone


  2. Upfront.raw…and very human..thank you for your art..xod


    • Thank you, Diane. I am trying to be more free with my poetry. To not constrain my true feelings for the sake of appearances. These may not be “finished” poems in a traditional sense, but they are some if the most honest, heartfelt, and true writing I’ve ever done.

      Thank you for being such a great reader!

      Apr 14, 2013,


Leave a Reply

