30 Poems for National Poetry Month: Day 18

April 18, 2013

pocket_logo2Here is my poem for Day 18 of National Poetry Month, which is also “Poem in Your Pocket Day”:

 

Is that a poem in your pocket

Or are you just happy to be

Alive and kicking in the teeth

Of the cruel world just by

Your very existence?

The world needs poetry

If only to make sense

Of the senseless, put words

To what can’t be explained,

And say the unsayable.

Me? I carry my poem

Wherever I go and bring

It out to give it to you.

 

–Scott Edward Anderson

 

7 Responses to “30 Poems for National Poetry Month: Day 18”

  1. Lee Langbaum Says:

    Caught it…. Put it in my pocket and taking it to Cuba to disperse….. Xoxo

    Sent from my iPhone


  2. […] 30 Poems for National Poetry Month: Day 18 […]


  3. […] 30 Poems for National Poetry Month: Day 18 (seapoetry.wordpress.com) […]


  4. I have no idea why, but I think it would’ve been funny if you said “Is that a poem in your pocket or are you just happy to see me?


  5. […] 30 Poems for National Poetry Month: Day 18 (seapoetry.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

