30 Poems for National Poetry Month: Day 19

April 19, 2013

4-19-1775-LexingtonHere is my poem for Day 19.

I wrote it in the midst of all the chaos and reports coming from Boston, trying to keep up my spirits and the challenge made to myself for National Poetry Month. And to prove terror can’t trump poetry.

 

I have no words.

I just stare, listening

To the news and don’t

Even know how to ask

Why?

Where is the poetry

In words like manhunt,

Lockdown, shelter-in-place order?

Where is the poetry

In controlled explosion,

on-going situation

person-of-interest?

Where is the poetry

In a world where terror

Takes hold and bites?

It’s in the eyes of my love

And our hands clasped,

Finally reunited and safe

Together, after too long apart

–Scott Edward Anderson
3 Responses to “30 Poems for National Poetry Month: Day 19”


  1. Counting it pure grace that I have discovered your poetry. Yes, I love yours words here…where is the poetry? But yes it is somehow everywhere in everything. I am savoring your series. Thanks for your offerings. (discovered your poetry though tweetspeak)


Leave a Reply

