30 Poems for National Poetry Month: Day 21

April 21, 2013

Here is my poem for Day 21:

I want you to feel the way you do
When you’re with me, even when
We’re apart: beautiful, whole, sexy,
Smart, grounded — a rock star.
You should always feel that way,
Because it is who you are
Not just how I see you.
“Bind me as a seal upon your heart,
A sign upon your arm…” writes Solomon.
That seal and sign,
Should not be a “brand,”
But a celebration of you,
Your beauty, your wholeness,
And how full of love you are.

–Scott Edward Anderson

 

20130421-102320.jpg

3 Responses to “30 Poems for National Poetry Month: Day 21”

  1. kalabalu Says:

    to be as you are and not as seen or felt..good message

  2. Lee Langbaum Says:

    Scott, I haven’t been able to communicate with you this last week because, unbelievably, there is no cell or Internet service in Cuba for North Americans…. The embargo is inconvenient for us but really hurts the average Cuban. Anyway, reading at least 8-9 of your poems at one sitting tonight was overwhelming. What a feat! Be proud…..such an accomplishment. (think day 21 is among my favorites)!

    Looking forward to our lunch next week!

    Xoxo

    Sent from my iPad

    On Apr 21, 2013, at 10:30 AM, Scott Edward Anderson’s Poetry Blog wrote:

    WordPress.com Scott Edward Anderson posted: “Here is my poem for Day 21: I want you to feel the way you do When you’re with me, even when We’re apart: beautiful, whole, sexy, Smart, grounded — a rock star. You should always feel that way, Because it is who you are Not just how I see you. “Bind me “


  3. Thank you, Lee, and welcome back! I, too, look forward to our lunch next week. I am glad I could help make April a little less cruel. XO


Leave a Reply

