30 Poems for National Poetry Month: Day 9

April 9, 2013

Ted Williams No 9Here is my poem for Day 9:

 

I worry that my happiness

Will get in the way of my poetry.

Whoever heard of a happy poet?

We’re all supposed to be manic

Depressives or alcoholics.

We have to suffer for our Art

Or it ain’t “Art” — right?

I worry, too, that I’m boring

My readers with all these love

Poems or that it seems

Over-the-top, that no one

Will believe a man can be

THAT much in love,

When these are among

The most honest poems

I’ve ever written. And,

Yes, I AM that much in love.

Worry, too, I can’t sustain

Such joy and I’m setting myself

Up for a big fall. I worry…

Nah, I’ve given up worrying.

Happiness is my choice,

And I’m happy with it.

 

 –Scott Edward Anderson

3 Responses to “30 Poems for National Poetry Month: Day 9”

  1. Lee Langbaum Says:

    Yes… Go with it. So few can feel the depth of love you and Sam have. You’ll weather whatever comes your way! And, I never tire of your expressions of love!! Xoxoxo

    Sent from my iPhone


  2. […] 30 Poems for National Poetry Month: Day 9 (seapoetry.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

